Awards Dinner: Melbourne Town Hall

All are welcome to our special Quality Awards Dinner

Melbourne Town Hall 19 September 2018

Tickets are on sale now

Members discount

Great price for tables of ten

Super special for Seniors Card holders

Meaningful Ageing Australia Quality Practice Awards

The Meaningful Ageing Australia Quality Practice Awards recognise innovation and excellence in the spiritual care of older people.

Our Awards recognise organisations who:

  • Actively develop and promote organisation-wide quality practice in pastoral and/or spiritual support of older people
  • Have developed, implemented and evaluated innovative programs to promote and/or improve spiritual care of older people in the organisation or community
  • Want to be recognised for their innovation and celebrate their achievements

Current Meaningful Ageing Australia member organisations are eligible to nominate for the Award.

Judging is by an independent panel and all applications are de-identified.

  • The 2018 award recipients will be announced at the Celebration Dinner at Melbourne Town Hall on 19 September.
  • Finalists will be invited to present at a Meaningful Ageing event in their city/region.
  • The winning Meaningful Ageing Australia member organisation/group/service will receive $1000 towards pastoral/spiritual care.
  • The winning program/approach will be published as a Meaningful Ageing resource and made available to our members.

Applications have now closed. Finalists will be announced during August.

Register to attend the celebration dinner here – all welcome!

This year’s Awards will be presented by Nick Ryan, CEO Australian Aged Care Quality Agency at a special evening event being held at the Melbourne Town Hall on Wednesday 19 September 2018.

2018 Finalists Announcement

Finalists announced for national aged care quality pastoral and spiritual care practice awards

Aged care organisations that go above and beyond have once again been recognised, with seven finalists announced in the 2018 Meaningful Ageing Australia Awards.

The Awards celebrate organisations who can demonstrate a sustained and effective program or project that is focused on high quality pastoral and spiritual care of older people.

Meaningful Ageing Australia CEO, Ilsa Hampton, said “These providers show what is possible when organisations use their imagination and effort to provide quality of life for each older person.” “Our awards drive improvements in aged care across Australia by setting benchmarks and providing practical advice about how to undertake similar work.” “Our last two winners led to the Intergenerational Reminiscence Program and Dementia Specific Christian Worship Service, both of which are now being used across Australia.”

The 2018 finalists include: Catholic Healthcare, RFBI, Blue Haven Care Home, Southern Cross Care Broken Hill, Ashfield Baptist Homes, Catholic Care of the Aged Port Macquarie and Villa Maria Catholic Homes. Some examples of their initiatives include:

  • spiritual reminiscence for people living with dementia
  • creating opportunities for isolated men to connect and reflect
  • developing ways for residents to ‘give back’ as part of their spiritual expression
  • helping families access meaningful spiritual care, beyond religious categories.

The finalists were chosen through a strict process of de-identification and judging by an independent panel coming from three states/territories. The judging panel includes a “consumer” representative, senior leaders from aged care and an academic. Ilsa Hampton commented, “The judges carefully assessed each application to ensure they can demonstrate the effectiveness and sustainability of their pastoral or spiritual care offering.  The quality of applications was again out-standing”.

Winners will be announced at the Awards celebration dinner to be held at Melbourne Town Hall following the Meaningful Ageing Member Representative Forum High Quality Spiritual Care in Aged Care: Evidence, excellence and access on 19 September 2018. The winner will be revealed by Nick Ryan, CEO Australian Aged Care Quality Agency and receives $1000 towards pastoral/spiritual care in their organisation. Meaningful Ageing is looking forward to creating another high quality publication based on the winning approach that allows others to replicate their work.

Applications for 2018 are now closed – see you at the dinner!


Want to know more? Here are the questions our 2018 applicants responded to:

a)    Describe your pastoral/spiritual care initiative including commencement date and, if applicable, end date (noting 12 month minimum)
(max. 500 words)


b)    How does your initiative promote meaningful ageing?
(max. 500 words)


c)    Please describe how your initiative aligns with the National Guidelines for Spiritual Care in Aged Care.
(max. 500 words)


d)    How many people directly benefit from your initiative every month?


e)    Describe the people whom have benefited from your initiative.
(max. 200 words)


f)     What did you learn in the process of implementing and evaluating this initiative?
(250–350 words)


g)    What is your evidence of positive outcomes from your quality pastoral/spiritual care initiative? (250–350 words)


h)    How will your initiative be sustained in your organisation/service/group?
(up to 200 words)



2016 Winner

Carrington (NSW) set up a reminiscence program in 2011 where senior students are coached in getting alongside residents to really listen to their life stories over a 3 month period. Families, students and residents all benefit from the process and the final product – a memento of the older person’s life. Read more here.

Copies of the published reminiscence program are now available for you to support implementation in your organisation. Click the link to order the Intergenerational Reminiscence: a leader’s guide for aged care organisations and secondary schools.


Villa Maria (Catholic Healthcare, NSW) – highly commended

Peninsula Villages (NSW) – highly commended

Bethanie (WA)

IRT Kangara Waters (NSW)

Salvation Army Aged Care Plus (NSW/ACT) 


2015 Winner

Churches of Christ Care Queensland were our inaugural award winner for their dementia-specific Christian worship service project. Read more here.

Baptcare Vic/Tas was the 2015 finalist.

Follow me on Twitter

Cart Item Removed. Undo
  • No products in the cart.